Project

General

Profile

Feature #21437

the delete host confirmation box could be a bit more explicit

Added by Daniel Kimsey over 1 year ago. Updated 3 months ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
Web Interface
Target version:
-
Difficulty:
Triaged:
No
Bugzilla link:
Pull request:
Team Backlog:
Fixed in Releases:
Found in Releases:

Description

Deleting a Host:

Are you sure you want to delete host <...>? This action is irreversible.

Deleting a Host and associated VM (vsphere)?

Are you sure you want to delete host <...>? This will delete the virtual machine and its disks, and is irreversible.

Right now the prompt is visually the same. Yes, there a few extra words. But a human isn't going to take the extra time to read the message. Maybe some highlighted text on "delete the virtual machine and its disks" or a confirmation checkbox. Or both.

Deleting the Host record, not an issue, but right now deleting a VM and its disks could be a bit more explicit. The difference between the messages is quite subtle.


Related issues

Related to Foreman - Feature #22737: Flag to avoid deletion from compute resource of an host associated when it's removed from satelliteClosed
Related to Foreman - Feature #25735: Add the host deletion warning also to host bulk actionClosed

History

#1 Updated by Marek Hulán 3 months ago

  • Status changed from New to Resolved

I believe this was resolved, the message is now more explicit and there's global setting that can be used to disable VM deletion. It has been introduced in 1.20

#2 Updated by Marek Hulán 3 months ago

  • Related to Feature #22737: Flag to avoid deletion from compute resource of an host associated when it's removed from satellite added

#3 Updated by Marek Hulán 3 months ago

  • Related to Feature #25735: Add the host deletion warning also to host bulk action added

Also available in: Atom PDF