Project

General

Profile

Bug #23298

Unregistering content host deletes virtual machine

Added by Lembitu Ling about 4 years ago. Updated almost 4 years ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
-
Target version:
Difficulty:
Triaged:
Bugzilla link:
Pull request:
Fixed in Releases:
Found in Releases:
Red Hat JIRA:

Description

Description

Unregistering content host deletes virtual machine

Description of problem:

When you go to Katello -> Hosts -> Content hosts and open up content host there is a button to unregister content host.
If pressed you get warning about removing subscriptions etc. Actually the button removes whole host from virtualization environment.

Version-Release number of selected component (if applicable):

foreman 1.16.1
bastion 6.1.5
foreman-tasks 0.10.9
foreman_bootdisk 10.0.2
foreman_docker 3.2.1
foreman_hooks 0.3.14
foreman_openscap 0.8.6
foreman_remote_execution 1.3.3
katello 3.5.1.1
puppetdb_foreman 3.1.2

virtualization - VMWare

How reproducible:

Easily Reproducible

Steps to Reproduce:

Katello -> Hosts -> Content hosts and open up content host there is a button to unregister content host.
If pressed you get warning about removing subscriptions etc. Actually the button removes whole host from virtualization environment.

screenshot1.png View screenshot1.png 91 KB Lembitu Ling, 04/18/2018 06:09 PM
Screenshot1

History

#1 Updated by Lembitu Ling about 4 years ago

  • Copied from Bug #21552: Host parameters added/updated via API do not make it to userscript on provisioning to EC2 added

#2 Updated by Lembitu Ling about 4 years ago

  • Copied from deleted (Bug #21552: Host parameters added/updated via API do not make it to userscript on provisioning to EC2)

#3 Updated by Lembitu Ling about 4 years ago

  • Subject changed from Unregisttering content host deletes virtual machine to Unregistering content host deletes virtual machine

#4 Updated by Justin Sherrill about 4 years ago

There should be two buttons here, one to delete and one to unregister. Deleting will delete the virtual machine in some instances this is by design with foreman (although i somewhat disagree with it). Can you confirm which button you are selecting and provide a screenshot?

#5 Updated by Lembitu Ling about 4 years ago

  • File screenshot1.PNG added

Justin Sherrill wrote:

There should be two buttons here, one to delete and one to unregister. Deleting will delete the virtual machine in some instances this is by design with foreman (although i somewhat disagree with it). Can you confirm which button you are selecting and provide a screenshot?

There is only one button. And it does not remove registration but virtual machine.

#6 Updated by Lembitu Ling about 4 years ago

  • File deleted (screenshot1.PNG)

#7 Updated by Lembitu Ling about 4 years ago

  • File screenshot1.png added

#8 Updated by Lembitu Ling about 4 years ago

  • File deleted (screenshot1.png)

#10 Updated by Lembitu Ling about 4 years ago

  • Priority changed from High to Normal
  • Status changed from New to Resolved

Seems to be fixed in 1.17

#11 Updated by Jonathon Turel about 4 years ago

  • Legacy Backlogs Release (now unused) set to 166

Also available in: Atom PDF