Project

General

Profile

Feature #32406

Prevent re-register unless host is in build mode

Added by Pat Riehecky over 1 year ago. Updated over 1 year ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
Subscriptions
Target version:
Difficulty:
Triaged:
Yes
Bugzilla link:
Fixed in Releases:
Found in Releases:
Red Hat JIRA:

Description

I'd like to prevent a host from re-registering unless the host is in "build" mode.

Right now, a user who knows a valid activation key can register as a host that already exists and invalidate the subscriptions of the real host. The existing setting `host_profile_assume` can help limit the exposure, but the DMI UUID is not the most well protected piece of host information.

I'd like to request an additional setting to treat an attempt to register as a host that already exists as an error unless that host is in build mode.

From an implementation side, I'd expect this to interact with the `host_profile_assume` setting so that both could be used together.

Associated revisions

Revision 47a628e4 (diff)
Added by Pat Riehecky over 1 year ago

Fixes #32406 - Prevent re-register unless host is in build mode

History

#1 Updated by The Foreman Bot over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from New to Ready For Testing
  • Pull request https://github.com/Katello/katello/pull/9313 added

#2 Updated by James Jeffers over 1 year ago

  • Triaged changed from No to Yes
  • Target version set to Katello 4.1.0

#3 Updated by Jonathon Turel over 1 year ago

  • Target version changed from Katello 4.1.0 to Katello 4.2.0

#4 Updated by The Foreman Bot over 1 year ago

  • Fixed in Releases Katello 4.2.0 added

#5 Updated by Pat Riehecky over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Ready For Testing to Closed

Also available in: Atom PDF