Project

General

Profile

Feature #217

Before deleting a Hostgroup, warn that the hostgroup is in use.

Added by Bash Shell about 10 years ago. Updated about 10 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
Web Interface
Target version:
Difficulty:
Triaged:
No
Bugzilla link:
Pull request:
Fixed in Releases:
Found in Releases:

Description

Users will go through some effort when they create a Hostgroup, and assign classes and group parameters.

Then they add many hosts to this Hostgroup.

If they delete the Hostgroup (by mistake or mis-communication), this effort may be wasted.

It would be great if Foreman did not allow deletion of Hostgroups that are in use.
This can be done by using "before_destroy Ensure_not_used_by.new(:hosts, :puppetclasses)"

But ideally, the delete link should show a summary of what Hosts (and Group Parameters) will be affected after you click delete and confirm the deletion.

Associated revisions

Revision 17a015c2 (diff)
Added by Ohad Levy about 10 years ago

fixes #217 - Before deleting a Hostgroup, warn that the hostgroup is in use.

History

#1 Updated by Ohad Levy about 10 years ago

  • Category set to Web Interface
  • Target version set to 0.1-5

Would you like to start with the simple solution? (ensure that its not used)

after #200 is done, you could easily change the pop up text when pressing the delete link.

#2 Updated by Ohad Levy about 10 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Ready For Testing
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

#3 Updated by Ohad Levy about 10 years ago

  • Status changed from Ready For Testing to Closed

Also available in: Atom PDF