Project

General

Profile

Feature #12337

Make it possible to persist facts/reports when host is being rebuilt

Added by Andreas Pfaffeneder almost 4 years ago. Updated over 1 year ago.

Status:
New
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
Facts
Target version:
-
Difficulty:
Triaged:
Bugzilla link:
Pull request:
Fixed in Releases:
Found in Releases:

Description

A software generates an kind of UUID when being installed. This UUID is used to connect to a third system which keeps track of the systems reporting in by the UUID and not by a hostname/DNS-name. The UUID can be gathered via a custom fact via puppet and also can be written by a given puppet module if the fact is available.

Upon rebuilding a host, all reports and facts are being cleared, thus making it impossible to access a fact in order to rebuild the UUID in the conffile.

Generally I'd like to be asked whether all facts/reports should be deleted when re-building a host. Ideally I can select if only reports and/or reports should be deleted.


Related issues

Related to Discovery - Feature #12244: Do not delete facts during provisioningDuplicate2015-10-21

History

#1 Updated by Dominic Cleal almost 4 years ago

  • Related to Feature #12244: Do not delete facts during provisioning added

#2 Updated by Dominic Cleal almost 4 years ago

  • Category set to Facts

#3 Updated by Lukas Zapletal almost 4 years ago

  • Bugzilla link set to 1277926

So is a checkbox for both in the Build confirmation dialog enough?

#4 Updated by Andreas Pfaffeneder almost 4 years ago

For a user yes. Please also make this available for the API which is my use case.

#5 Updated by Tomáš Strachota about 2 years ago

  • Target version set to 115

Also available in: Atom PDF